THANKS TO OUR VOLUNTEERS

ELLIE YOUNG, USENIX EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

ellie@usenix.org

USENIX's success would not be possible without the volunteers who lend their expertise and support for our conferences, publications, and member services. While there are many who serve on program committees, coordinate the various activities at the conferences, work on committees, and contribute to this magazine, I would like to make special mention of the following individuals who made significant contributions in 2005:

The program chairs for our 2005 conferences:

Vivek Pai, General Track at 2005 USENIX Annual Technical Conference

Niels Provos, *FREENIX/Open Source Track at USENIX '05* Amin Vahdat and David Wetherall,

2nd NSDI

David Kotz and Brian Noble, program chairs, Third MobiSys Kang G. Shin, general chair, Third MobiSys

Ron Ambrosio, Chatschik Biskdikian, Maria Papdopouli, and Dina Papagiannaki, *program*

chairs for the two workshops held in conjunction with MobiSys '05 Michael Hind and Jan Vitek, International Conference on Virtual **Execution Environments** Margo Seltzer, HotOS X Dina Katabi and Balachander Krishnamurthy, Steps to Reducing Unwanted Traffic on the Internet Workshop Ted Ts'o, 2005 Linux Kernel Developers Summit Patrick McDaniel, 14th USENIX Security Symposium David Blank-Edelman, 19th LISA Brad Karp and Vivek Pai, 2nd Workshop on Real, Large Distributed Systems Garth Gibson, 4th USENIX Conference on File and Storage Technologies Invited Talk/Special Track Chairs and Coordinators: USENIX '05: Ethan Miller and Erez Zadok, Invited Talks Atul Adya, Poster Session Security '05: Virgil Gligor and Gary McGraw, Invited Talks LISA '05: Adam Moskowitz and Bill LeFebvre, Invited Talks Philip Kizer, Guru Is In Sessions Luke Kanies, Workshops And: Victor Bahl for his efforts on the steering committee for MobiSys '05 B. Krishnamurthy for his efforts as liaison and his work on the steering committee for the SIG-COMM/USENIX Internet Measurement Conference Peter Honeyman for his efforts in reaching out to other groups, international and domestic: the

OpenAFS community, the SANE conference, What the Hack, and the Middleware conference

Jennifer Davis of BayLISA in helping USENIX organize the first SF Bay Area Super User Group meeting, held in November 2005

Michael B. Jones, Clem Cole, Alva Couch, Theodore Ts'o, Matt Blaze, Jon Hall, Geoff Halprin, and Kirk McKusick, for their service on the USENIX Board in 2005

Rob Kolstad and Don Piele for their efforts with the USA Computing Olympiad, sponsored by USENIX

Kirk McKusick and Dan Geer for serving on the USENIX 2006 Nominating Committee

Mike Jones for serving as liaison to the Computing Research Association

USENIX is grateful to all!