Contributors to this Issue

Mario R. Barbacci is a senior member of the technical staff at the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) and a member of the faculty in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. His primary research interests are in the areas of computer architectures, design automation, and programming languages/environments. Barbacci is currently leading a project investigating languages and environments for heterogeneous computers. He is a senior member of the IEEE and the Computer Society of the IEEE, a member of the ACM and Sigma Xi, and past chair of IFIP Working Group 10.2 (Computer Descriptions and Tools). Barbacci received bachelor and Engineer's degrees in electrical engineering from the Universidad Nacional de Ingenieria, Lima, Peru, and a doctorate in computer science from Carnegie Mellon.

Peter Brown is Professor of Computer Science at the University of Kent at Canterbury. He holds B.A. and Ph.D. degrees from Cambridge Universities, and an M.Sc. from the University of North Carolina. He has also worked at IBM (UK) Labs., and has been a Visiting Professor at Stanford University. In partnership with OWL, he recently won the BCS award for the best technic-innovation of 1988.

Dennis Doubleday is a member of the technical staff at the Software Engineering Institute (SEI). Before joining the SEI, he was a member of the technical staff at TRW Federal Systems Group, Systems Division, in McLean, Virginia, where he participated in the development of programming support environment tools for the Ada Language System/Navy. Prior to that, Doubleday was a Research Assistant in the software metrics group at the University of Maryland at College Park. Doubleday received the M.S. in Computer Science from the University of Maryland, College Park, the M.Mus. from Northwestern University, and the B.Mus. from Oklahoma City University. *Bjarne Stroustrup* is the designer and original implementor of C++ and the author of *The C++ Programming Language*. He holds a Cand. Scient. in Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of Aarhus and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Cambridge University. His research interests include distributed systems, operating systems, simulation, programming methodology, and programming languages. Stroustrup has been at Bell Laboratories since 1979; he is currently a member of the Computer Science Research Center.

Charles B. Weinstock is a senior member of the technical staff at the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon University. His research interests include fault-tolerant systems, distributed systems, and compiler implementation. Weinstock received a B.S. in Mathematics, a M.S. in Industrial Administration, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science, all from Carnegie Mellon University. He is a member of the IEEE, the Computer Society of the IEEE, and the ACM.

Jeannette M. Wing is an assistant professor of computer science at Carnegie Mellon University. Her research interests include formal specifications, programming languages, concurrent and faulttolerant distributed systems, and visual languages. She contributed to the design of the Larch and Durra specification languages and now co-directs the Avalon and Miro projects at Carnegie Mellon. Wing received an SB, SM, and Ph.D. in computer science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is a member of the IEEE, the Computer Society of the IEEE, and the ACM.

Ada is a registered trademark of the U.S. Government (Ada Joint Program Office); DEC, VAX, and VMS are trademarks of Digital Equipment Corp.; HyperTalk, HyperCard, and Macintosh are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc; IBM is a registered trademark of International Business Machines Corp.; SUN is a trademark of Sun Microsystems, Inc.; UNIX is a registered trademark of AT&T Bell Laboratories; X Window System is a trademark of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.